Beyond Classroom Tech Tips…

February 7, 2008

What Am I Doing?

Filed under: Uncategorized — Donna DesRoches @ 2:35 am

Currently I am on a three-month Education Leave attempting to finish my Master’s project – which will bring an end to my program.

My project is to bring everything that I have learned about technology, information literacy and instructional design into a structure that will provide teachers in my school division with instant access to resources about information literacy and to online tutorials that they can work through.

When I began my Masters I was in a teaching position that I had held for over 15 years. I was ready for new and exciting challenges. I am now in a new position as the Learning Resources Consultant for the school division and deeply involved in many new initiatives. I find it very hard to leave behind the committee, the people and tasks that we undertook at the beginning of this year – I find them all so very stimulating that they occupy much more of my thinking time. And, yes I end up spending time working on the projects much more than I should.

Just this week I had an opportunity to spend a morning with Arts Education Consultant and her lead teacher team working on their Arts and Technology Projectshpim0162.jpg

I very much enjoyed the discussions around critical and creative thinking and the new skills that students need to be successful learners and the new skills that teachers need to be successful educators.

One of the goals of this group is to commit to an Arts Ed and technology project using one of the tools available, such as but not limited to:

We spent sometime examining VoiceThread and the teachers then spent the afternoon working and collaborating on their projects.  I am looking forward to watching their work in progress and seeing the finished results.

1 Comment »

  1. Donna,
    You’re going to miss us? I think you have that backwards and I sure hope that this committee doesn’t end at the end of this year because it is so . . . words fail me. Awesome, great, interesting, relevant!!!

    Comment by Morag — February 29, 2008 @ 4:11 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

